"Statutes of limitations" are laws that set time limits on how long you have to file a "civil" lawsuit, like a personal injury lawsuit, or how long the state has to prosecute someone for committing a crime. These time limits usually depend on the legal claim or crime involved in the case, and they're different from state to state. For example, in some states you may have three years to file a personal injury lawsuit after you were hurt in car accident, but in other states you may have two years. As a general rule:

  • The time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or "accrues," like the day of the car accident, or when a crime is committed, and
  • Once the statute of limitations has expired or "run," you can't file a lawsuit (or be prosecuted for a crime)

Below are the statutes of limitations in Wyoming for various civil claims and crimes. The list doesn't cover everything. Also, the laws may change at anytime, so be sure to check the current laws and read them carefully, or talk to an attorney if you have any questions.

Civil

Note: Most of the civil statutes of limitations are in Title 1, Chapter 3 of the Wyoming Code. Scroll through the page provided to see the code sections noted below. Also, you can scroll through the laws in this Chapter to find the statute of limitations for civil claims or "causes of action" not listed below.

Description

Statute

Assault and Battery, 1 year

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(v)(B)

Contract (in writing), 10 years

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(i)

Contract (oral or not in writing), 8 years

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(ii)(A)

False Imprisonment, 1 year

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(v)(C)

Fraud, 4 years

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(iv)(D)

Enforcing Court Judgments, 5 years

Wyo. Code §§ 1-3-105(a)(iii) or 1-17-307

Legal Malpractice, 2 years

Wyo. Code § 1-3-107(a)(i)

Libel, 1 year

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(v)(A)

Medical Malpractice, 2 years

Wyo. Code § 1-3-107(a)(i)

Personal Injury, 4 years

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(iv)(C)

Product Liability, 4 years

Wyo. Code §§ 1-3-105(a)(iv)(C)

Property Damage, 4 years

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(iv)(B)

Slander, 1 year

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(v)(A)

Trespass, 4 years

Wyo. Code § 1-3-105(a)(iv)(A)

Wrongful Death, 2 years

Wyo. Code § 1-38-102(d)

Criminal

In Wyoming, there are no statutes of limitations for any criminal prosecution. In other words, you can be prosecuted at any time for committing any crime. You can scroll through the criminal laws to see what types of conduct and activities are crimes in Wyoming. And, you can look at Wyoming's sentencing laws to see the punishments for the various crimes.

Tagged as: Consumer Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Wyoming, statutes of limitations, statute of limitations, statute of limitation, statutes of limitation, limitation on actions, limitations on action, limitations of action, limitation of actions time limit, time limits, time limitations, felony, misdemeanor, attorney, attorneys, lawyer, lawyers, legal, law firm, Lawyers.com, legal articles