"Statutes of limitations" are laws that set time limits on how long you have to file a "civil" lawsuit, like a personal injury lawsuit, or how long the state has to prosecute someone for committing a crime. These time limits usually depend on the legal claim or crime involved in the case, and they're different from state to state. For example, in some states you may have three years to file a personal injury lawsuit after you were hurt in a car accident, but in other states you may have two years. As general rule:

  • The time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or "accrues," like the day of the car accident, or when a crime is committed, and
  • Once the statute of limitations has expired or "run," you can't file a lawsuit (or be prosecuted for a crime)

Below are the statutes of limitations in Utah for various civil claims and crimes. The list doesn't cover everything. Also, the laws may change at any time, so be sure to check the current laws and read them carefully, or talk to an attorney if you have any questions.

Civil

Note: Most of the civil statutes of limitations are in Title 78B, Chapter 2 of the Utah Code. You can scroll through the laws in this Chapter to find the statute of limitations for civil claims or "causes of action" not listed below.

Description

Statute

Assault and Battery, 4 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-307(3)

Contract (in writing), 6 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-309(2)

Contract (oral or not in writing), 4 years   

Utah Code § 78B-2-302(1)(a)   

False Imprisonment, 1 year

Utah Code § 78B-2-302(4)

Fraud, 3 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-305(3)

Enforcing Court Judgments, 8 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-311

Legal Malpractice, 4 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-307(3)

Libel, 1 year

Utah Code § 78-B2-302(4)

Medical Malpractice, 2 years

Utah Code § 78B-3-404(1)

Personal Injury, 4 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-307(3)

Product Liability, 2 years

Utah Code § 78B-6-706

Property Damage, 3 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-305(2)

Slander, 1 year

Utah Code § 78B-2-302(4)

Trespass, 3 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-305(1)

Wrongful Death, 2 years

Utah Code § 78B-2-304(2)

Criminal

Note: Most of the criminal statutes of limitations are in Title 76, Chapter 1 of the Utah Code. You can scroll through the criminal laws (found in Title 76 ) to find crimes not listed below, and then use Title 15, Chapter 3 to find the statutes of limitations for those crimes.

Description

Statute

Arson, 2 or 4 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Utah Code § 76-1-302(1)(a) or (b)

Assault, 2 years

Utah Code § 76-1-302(1)(b)

Burglary, 4 years

Utah Code § 76-1-302(1)(a)

Disorderly Conduct, 1 or 2 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Utah Code § 76-1-302(1)(b) or (c)

Kidnapping, No time limit or 4 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Utah Code § 76-1-301 or Utah Code § 76-1-302(1)(a)   

Manslaughter, voluntary, No time limit

Utah Code § 76-1-301(4)

Murder, capital, No time limit

Utah Code § 76-1-301(1)

Murder, No time limit

Utah Code § 76-1-301(3)

Rape, No time limit

Utah Code § 76-1-301(8)

Receiving Stolen Property, 2 or 4 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Utah Code § 76-1-302(1)(a) or (b)

Robbery, 4 years

Utah Code § 76-1-302(1)(a)

Theft, 2 or 4 years (Depending on the facts of the case)   

Utah Code § 76-1-302(1)(a) or (b)

Tagged as: Consumer Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Utah, STATE statutes of limitations, statute of limitations, statute of limitation, statutes of limitation, limitation on actions, limitations on action, limitations of action, limitation of actions time limit, time limits, time limitations, assault, battery, contract, written contract, oral contract, false imprisonment, fraud, court judgments, legal malpractice, libel, medical malpractice, personal injury, property damage, product liability, slander, trespass, wrongful death, arson, burglary, disorderly conduct, kidnapping, manslaughter, misdemeanor, murder, rape, robbery, theft, lawyers.com, legal articles