"Statutes of limitations" are laws that set time limits on how long you have to file a "civil" lawsuit, like a personal injury lawsuit, or how long the state has to prosecute someone for committing a crime. These time limits usually depend on the legal claim or crime involved in the case, and they're different from state to state. For example, in some states you may have three years to file a personal injury lawsuit after you were hurt in a car accident, but in other states you may have two years. As a general rule:

  • The time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or "accrues," like the day of the car accident, or when a crime is committed, and
  • Once the statute of limitations has expired or "run," you can't file a lawsuit (or be prosecuted for a crime)

Below are the statutes of limitations in Oklahoma for various civil claims and crimes. The list doesn't cover everything. Also, the laws may change at any time, so be sure to check the current laws and read them carefully, or talk to an attorney if you have any questions.

Civil

Note: Most of the civil statutes of limitations are in Title 12 of the Oklahoma Statutes. You need to scroll through the page provided to see the code sections noted below. Also, you can scroll through this Title to find the statute of limitations for civil claims or "causes of action" not listed below.

Description

Statute

Assault and Battery, 1 year

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(4)

Contract (in writing), 5 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(1)

Contract (oral or not in writing), 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(2)

False Imprisonment, 1 year

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(4)

Fraud, 2 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(3)

Enforcing Court Judgments, 3 or 5 years
(Depending on the court that entered the judgment)    

Okla. Stat. §§ 12-95(A)(2) or 12-735    

Legal Malpractice, 2 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(3)

Libel, 1 year

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(4)

Medical Malpractice, 2 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(3)

Personal Injury, 2 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(3)

Product Liability, 2 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(3)

Property Damage, 2 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(3)

Slander, 1 year

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(4)

Trespass, 2 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-95(A)(3)

Wrongful Death, 2 years

Okla. Stat. § 12-1053(A)

Criminal

Note: Most of the criminal statutes of limitations are in Title 22 of the Oklahoma Statutes. You need to scroll through the page provided to see the code sections noted below. Also, you can scroll through the criminal laws (found in Title 21) to find crimes not listed below, and then use Title 22 to find the statutes of limitations for those crimes.

Description

Statute

Arson, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Assault and Battery, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Burglary, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Disorderly Conduct ("Disturbance by Loud or Unusual Noise or
Abusive, Violent, Obscene, Profane or Threatening Language"), 3 years   

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Kidnapping, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)    

Manslaughter, first degree, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Manslaughter, second degree, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Murder, No time limit

Okla. Stat. § 22-151

Murder, second degree, No time limit

Okla. Stat. § 22-151

Rape, 12 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(C)(1)

Receiving Stolen Property, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Robbery, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Theft, 3 years

Okla. Stat. § 22-152(H)

Tagged as: Consumer Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Oklahoma, STATE statutes of limitations, statute of limitations, statute of limitation, statutes of limitation, limitation on actions, limitations on action, limitations of action, limitation of actions time limit, time limits, time limitations, assault, battery, contract, written contract, oral contract, false imprisonment, fraud, court judgments, legal malpractice, libel, medical malpractice, personal injury, property damage, product liability, slander, trespass, wrongful death