"Statutes of limitations" are laws that set time limits on how long you have to file a "civil" lawsuit, like a personal injury lawsuit, or how long the state has to prosecute someone for committing a crime. These time limits usually depend on the legal claim or crime involved in the case, and they're different from state to state. For example, in some states you may have three years to file a personal injury lawsuit after you were hurt in car accident, but in other states you may have two years. As a general rule:

  • The time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or "accrues," like the day of the car accident, or when a crime is committed, and
  • Once the statute of limitations has expired or "run," you can't file a lawsuit (or be prosecuted for a crime)

Below are the statutes of limitations in Nebraska for various civil claims and crimes. The list doesn't cover everything. Also, the laws may change at anytime, so be sure to check the current laws and read them carefully, or talk to an attorney if you have any questions.

Civil

Note: Most of the civil statutes of limitations are in Title 25 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. You can scroll through the laws in this Chapter to find the statute of limitations for civil claims or "causes of action" not listed below.

Description

Statute

Assault and Battery, 1 year

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-208

Contract (in writing), 5 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-205(1)

Contract (oral or not in writing), 4 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-206

False Imprisonment, 1 year

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-208

Fraud, 4 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-207(4)

Enforcing Court Judgments, 5 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 25-205(1) and 25-1515

Legal Malpractice, 2 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-222

Libel, year

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-208

Medical Malpractice, 2 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-208

Personal Injury, 4 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-207(3)

Product Liability, 4 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-207(3)

Property Damage, 4 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-207(2)

Slander, 1 year

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-208

Trespass, 4 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 25-207(1)

Wrongful Death, 2 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 30-810

Criminal

Note: Most of the criminal statutes of limitations are in section 29-110 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes. You can scroll through the criminal laws (found in Chapter 28) to find crimes not listed below, and then use § 29-110 to find the statutes of limitations for those crimes.

Description

Statute

Arson, No time limit

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(6)

Assault, 18 months or 3 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(1) or (2)

Burglary, 3 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(1)

Disorderly Conduct ("Disturbing the Peace"), 18 months

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(2)

Kidnapping, 3 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(1)

Manslaughter, voluntary, 3 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(1)

Manslaughter, involuntary, 3 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(1)

Murder, No time limit

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(6)

Murder, second degree, No time limit

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(6)

Rape ("Sexual Assault"), No time limit

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(6)

Receiving Stolen Property, 18 months or 3 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(1) or (2)

Robbery, 3 years

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(1)

Theft, 18 months or 3 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Neb. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 29-110(1) or (2)

Tagged as: Consumer Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Nebraska statutes of limitations, statute of limitations, statute of limitation, statutes of limitation, limitation on actions, limitations on action, limitations of action, limitation of actions time limit, time limits, time limitations, assault, battery, contract, written contract, oral contract, false imprisonment, fraud, court judgments, legal malpractice, libel, medical malpractice, personal injury, property damage, product liability, slander, trespass, wrongful death