"Statutes of limitations" are laws that set time limits on how long you have to file a "civil" lawsuit, like a personal injury lawsuit, or how long the state has to prosecute someone for committing a crime. These time limits usually depend on the legal claim or crime involved in the case, and they're different from state to state. For example, in some states you may have three years to file a personal injury lawsuit after you were hurt in car accident, but in other states you may have two years. As a general rule:

  • The time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or "accrues," like the day of the car accident, or when a crime is committed, and
  • Once the statute of limitations has expired or "run," you can't file a lawsuit (or be prosecuted for a crime)

Below are the statutes of limitations in Minnesota for various civil claims and crimes. The list doesn't cover everything. Also, the laws may change at anytime, so be sure to check the current laws and read them carefully, or talk to an attorney if you have any questions.

Civil

Note: Most of the civil statutes of limitations are in Chapter 541 of the Minnesota Statutes. You can scroll through the laws in this Chapter to find the statute of limitations for civil claims or "causes of action" not listed below.

 

Description

Statute

Assault and Battery, 2 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.07(1)

Contract (in writing), 6 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1(1)

Contract (oral or not in writing), 6 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1(1)

False Imprisonment, 2 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.07(1)

Fraud, 6 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1(6)

Enforcing Court Judgments, 10 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.04

Legal Malpractice, 6 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.07(5)

Libel, 2 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.07(1)

Medical Malpractice, 4 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.076(b)

Personal Injury, 2 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.07(1)

Product Liability, 4 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 2

Property Damage, 6 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1(4)

Slander, 2 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.07(1)

Trespass, 6 years

Minn. Stat. § 541.05, subd. 1(3)

Wrongful Death, 3 to 6 years

Minn. Stat. § 573.02 subd. 1

Criminal

Note: Most of the criminal statutes of limitations are in section 628.26 of the Minnesota Statutes. You can scroll through the Minnesota criminal laws to find crimes not listed below, and then use § 628.26 to find the statutes of limitations for those crimes.

Description

Statute

Arson, 3 or 5 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(j) or (k)

Assault, 3 years

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(k)

Burglary, 3 years

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(k)

Disorderly Conduct, 3 years

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(k)

Kidnapping, No time limit

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(b)

Manslaughter, first degree, No time limit

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(a)

Manslaughter, second degree, No time limit

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(a)

Murder, first degree, No time limit

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(a)

Murder, second degree, No time limit

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(a)

Rape (Criminal Sexual Conduct), 3, 6, or 9 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(d) or (e) or (k)

Receiving Stolen Property, 3, 5, or 6 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(g) or (h) or (k)

Robbery, 3 years

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(k)

Theft, 3, 5, or 6 years (Depending on the facts of the case)

Minn. Stat. § 628.26(g) or (h) or (k)

Tagged as: Consumer Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, legal articles, Lawyers.com, statutes of limitations, lawsuit, Minnesota