"Statutes of limitations" are laws that set time limits on how long you have to file a "civil" lawsuit, like a personal injury lawsuit, or how long the state has to prosecute someone for committing a crime. These time limits usually depend on the legal claim or crime involved in the case, and they're different from state to state. For example, in some states you may have three years to file a personal injury lawsuit after you were hurt in car accident, but in other states you may have two years. As a general rule:

  • The time period begins to run on the date your claim arises or "accrues," like the day of the car accident, or when a crime is committed, and
  • Once the statute of limitations has expired or "run," you can't file a lawsuit (or be prosecuted for a crime)

Below are the statutes of limitations in Kansas for various civil claims and crimes. The list doesn't cover everything. Also, the laws may change at anytime, so be sure to check the current laws and read them carefully, or talk to an attorney if you have any questions.

Civil

Note: Most of the civil statutes of limitations are in Chapter 60, Article 5 of the Kansas Statutes or "code." Also, you can scroll through the laws in Article 5 to find the statute of limitations for civil claims or "causes of action" not listed below.

Description

Statute

Assault and Battery, 1 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-514(b)

Contract (in writing), 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-511(1)

Contract (oral or not in writing), 3 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-512(1)

False Imprisonment, 1 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-514(b)

Fraud, 2 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-513(a)(3)

Enforcing Court Judgments, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-2403a(a)(1)

Legal Malpractice, 2 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-513(a)(4)

Libel, 1 year

Kan. Stat. § 60-514(a)

Medical Malpractice, 2 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-513(a)(7)

Personal Injury, 1 year

Kan. Stat. § 60-514(b)

Product Liability, 2 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-513(a)(4), (b)

Property Damage, 2 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-513(a)(2)

Slander, 1 year

Kan. Stat. § 60-514(a)

Trespass, 2 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-513(a)(1)

Wrongful Death, 2 years

Kan. Stat. § 60-513(a)(5)

Criminal

Note: The Kansas criminal statutes of limitations generally are in Kan. Stat. § 21-3106. You need to scroll through the page provided to see the code sections listed below. Also, can scroll through the criminal laws (located in various Articles in Title 21) and then use § 21-3106 to determine which statute of limitations applies to a crime not listed below.

Description

Statute

Arson, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Aggravated Assault and Battery, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Burglary, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Kidnapping, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Manslaughter, voluntary, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Manslaughter, involuntary, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Murder, first degree, No time limit

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(1)

Murder, second degree, No time limit

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(1)

Rape, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Receiving Stolen Property, 5 years (If the value of the property is $1,000 or more)

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Robbery, 5 years

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Theft, 5 years (If the value of the property is $1,000 or more)

Kan. Stat. § 21-3106(4)

Tagged as: Consumer Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, legal articles, Lawyers.com, statutes of limitations, lawsuit, Kansas