|By Practice AreaBankruptcyBusiness LawChild CustodyCriminal LawDivorceEnvironmental LawFamily LawLabor & Employment LawPersonal InjuryReal EstateWills & ProbateMore...||By Life EventsGetting a DivorceWrite a WillBankruptcy, Credit and DebtHome Disaster RecoveryLosing a JobLandlord TenantAutomobile AccidentPrivacy ViolatedCare for an Aging RelativeIdentity TheftHot Topics on Lawyers.comMore...||By LocationCaliforniaFloridaGeorgiaIllinoisMichiganNew JerseyNew YorkOhioPennsylvaniaTexasWashingtonMore...|
|Legal ForumsRegisterSign inBankruptcyBusinessCriminalEmploymentFamilyImmigrationReal EstateMore...||ChatUpcomingArchiveHelpAsk a LawyerAsk a Question|
Texas law requires drivers to carry basic insurance to help them pay the costs for accidents they cause. In addition, lenders require certain additional coverage as long as they have the title to your vehicle. However, you may choose to carry additional coverage based on the type and amount of driving you do, as well as the value of your vehicle.Meeting Texas financial responsibility requirements
The Texas Department of Insurance explains that individuals who cause accidents must pay for them under the state financial responsibility law. To help ensure drivers can pay the potential costs of auto accidents, Texas requires them to carry basic 30/60/25 liability coverage. This means a policy must cover $30,000 for each injured person, up to $60,000 per accident, plus another $25,000 per accident to cover property damage.
Failure to carry basic coverage can result in severe consequences. A first conviction carries fines between $175 and $350. Subsequent offenses can cost between $350 and $1,000, and potentially result in license suspension and even impoundment of the car.Choosing additional coverage
In addition to any requirements made by your lender until you pay off your car loan, you can carry additional coverage based on your circumstances. Some of the most typical types of additional coverage include the following:
· Collision covers the costs of repairing or replacing your own vehicle after an accident. Even if you own your car outright, you may want to purchase this coverage based on the value of your car.
· Comprehensive covers the repair or replacement cost of your vehicle in events other than collisions — such as theft, vandalism, fire or hail damage.
· Medical and personal injury protection (PIP) provides two options for covering medical and funeral expenses from accidents, regardless of fault. However, PIP coverage also includes 80 percent of lost income and certain other expenses related to injuries.
· Uninsured / underinsured motorist protects you by providing coverage if you suffer injury or property damage from an accident caused by someone who does not meet state insurance requirements, or hit-and-run drivers. You can choose bodily injury, property damage or both types of coverage.
· Other coverage can include towing, car rental or many other items that you may want to insure.For a free consultation, contact an experienced Texas auto accident attorney in the event of a collision
Even if you have partial liability for an auto accident, you may have the right to pursue compensation from others who have a greater degree of fault. It costs nothing to obtain an assessment of your legal options by an experienced Beaumont personal injury lawyer before filing a claim against your insurance policy or the policies of liable parties. For a free consultation, call the Bernsen Law Firm at 409-212-9994. We take car accident cases on a contingency basis, meaning that we only collect legal fees when we obtain a settlement or award for your case.
Bernsen Law Firm
420 North MLK JR Parkway
Beaumont, TX 77701
SYNOPSIS: Texas law requires drivers to carry basic insurance to help them pay the costs for accidents they cause. In addition, lenders require certain additional coverage as long as they have the title to your vehicle. However, you may choose to carry additional coverage based on the type and amount of driving you do, as well as the value of your vehicle.