Traffic violations happen, and they can cause your insurance rates to go up or lead to a suspended or revoked license. This can limit your ability to get to work or engage in other daily activities.
Young drivers must be at least 15 years and 6 months of age before they may be licensed. They must practice driving with an instruction permit for 6 months. If you are at least 16 but not yet 18, you will receive a graduated license. You may not drive between the hours of midnight and 5:00 a.m. or have more than one passenger in the car with you for the first six months. After you pass a driving test, you must drive in accordance with the law. When the Department of Motor Vehicles issues you a license, it carries with it an implied consent that you will take a drug or Breathalyzer test if a law enforcement officer asks you to do so. If you do not consent, the DMV will immediately suspend your license.
The Arizona Department of Public Safety lists specific laws and information for drivers in this state. Rules cover a wide range of issues:
- You must have a valid license and vehicle registration. You must have liability insurance.
- You must obey speed limits of up to 75 mph on rural interstate highways.
- Moving violations are doubled in work zones.
- All children younger than four years old must ride in car seats. Children five to seven years old must use car seats if they are less than 57 inches tall. Older, taller children may use a seat belt.
- There are no laws against handheld cell phone use, even for young drivers. There are no bans against texting. Cell phone use is banned for school bus drivers.
Driving under the influence is a serious offense and it results in stiff penalties. You are driving under the influence in Arizona if your blood alcohol level is 0.08 percent or higher.
If a law enforcement officer issues you a ticket, it will include a court date and a contact number if you wish to contest the violation. If you want to just pay the fine, you may do so, but this constitutes an admission of guilt. You can fight a citation instead:
- Go to court on the given date.
- Plead not guilty.
- Go to trial unless you reach an agreement with the prosecutor.
- Argue your case in front of the judge or a jury, if applicable
You may appeal your conviction if you lose in court.
Reclaiming Your Revoked Driver's License
Getting your license back is probably foremost on your mind if it is revoked:
- Call the Arizona Department of Transportation for an investigation packet.
- Ask for permission to reapply.
- Show proof of financial responsibility if you have been charged with a DUI. Financial responsibility can be proven by a certificate of insurance.
- Fill out the application form and pay a reinstatement fee.
You an accomplish these steps online. In the case of suspension for failure to pay a ticket, you may reinstate your license by calling the court, paying all fines and license application fees, and getting a court clearance receipt.
Can a Lawyer Help?
Traffic violations can be tricky, especially if you must go to court. Contact an attorney for the best outcome and representation.
Get Professional Help
How It Works
- Briefly tell us about your case
- Provide your contact information
- Connect with local attorneys